To the friend I call a sister

Dear Rachel,

I know you’re growing older.
I know I don’t see you every day.
But I care about your future,
way too much to let it slip away.

I constantly act like a mom.
I’m always texting to bother you.
But if I don’t do checkups,
nobody would ever have a clue.

A dropout or a deadbeat,
that might just be you.
But as long as I’m here,
you’ll have somebody to walk through that too.

I’ve seen your behavior numerous times before.
I’ve watched them all follow through.
But I love you like a sister,
which is why I will never let anything happen to you.

With love
M

Leave a Reply

