a new beginning

a new beginning

Starting over is scary. It’s forging into unknown territory; it almost feels like you’ve been here before, but you’re not quite the same person you were last time.

Suddenly, I’m sitting in the front seat of his car and he’s right there beside me and his smile makes me want to hug him close and never let him go. His eyes twinkle like he’s here to stay, even though I know in August of next year he’ll be long gone. Who knows if I’ll still be on his mind then. I want to believe. I know he want to believe, too.

I know it’s wrong to compare them. They’re not the same person. But I can’t help it; what if he gets too close, and then he leaves? Or even worse, what if he gets too close, and he doesn’t like what he sees?

Leave a Reply

