Dawn

Dawn

The light is the first thing I see

Glowing through the almost transparent fabric

That separates us from everyone and thing out there.

Soft inhales and exhales are magnified by the

Proximity of our noses to the flannel blankets.

I summon the strength to lift my head

And risk the aching feeling of my back from sleeping on the floor.

I reach out to the fabric and

Pull the zipper away, revealing the early morning sun in all of its greatness.

Streaming through the trees with a much greater force,

Its purity is only made greater

Because I am the first

and only one

to see it.

Leave a Reply

