Defining Yourself: Anxiety and Stress

Defining Yourself: Anxiety and Stress

During the midterms or finals time of year for high school or college, it’s hard to not let the stress get to you. It’s much easier to feel depressed or not good enough this time of year for students because society has told us to define ourselves by our grades/success in school. If they aren’t up to par, many people feel like they aren’t good enough. Maddie and I both go to the same challenging high school in Southern California. Both of us have been struggling with how to handle the stress of our sophomore year with multiple AP classes. For me, stress is not something that goes away after our tests are over. I have been struggling with anxiety and the stress that comes along with it for as long as I can remember. A lot of people define themselves by their mental health. I will admit, it’s hard for me to differentiate myself from the anxious thoughts threatening to tear my insides apart. It can be scary sometimes, but it’s a part of who I am now. Sometimes it’s uncontrollable, but then I just take some time away from all the people in my life, shut myself in my room, and take a breather. I think that’s good advice for anyone with stress: don’t forget to take a breather. It helps you get back on track.

Hope you do well on your finals, you got this xx

Leave a Reply

